Hello, my name is Mario Brüggen.

I was born into a large family of craftsmen, giving me an early insight into a wide range of trades, and an appreciation for hands-on work. When I then began to develop a love for music, I wanted to include this in an occupation that would combine both technical and artistic aspects.
One that would allow me to work using my hands, utilising a wide range of materials in design and construction.

I found all of the above in lutherie, and so in 2008, I started my apprenticeship in Walter Kraushaar‘s workshop in Aachen. After successful completion in 2011, I then stayed and worked there until 2019. The additional years as an employee under Walther Kraushaar – and the thousands of repair jobs it entailed – allowed me to hone my skills and build on my craftsmanship, all the while giving me the opportunity to pick up on countless technical tricks and tweaking methods.

In the summer of 2019, I felt the need for new challenges which – coupled with a desire to branch out on my own – led me to move from Aachen to Hamburg, where I established this company with my old friend and colleague, Robin König. Together, we now look forward to new challenges and inspirations.

My name is Robin König and I am a luthier from Hamburg.

As son of furniture designer and cabinetmaker Gunter König, I encountered aesthetics, precious woods and craftsmanship early on in my life. At the age of 15, my dad and I built our first electric guitar together. It would then take building a second guitar to find my calling in lutherie and pursue making a career of my new-found hobby.

In 2009 – after graduating from high school – I started my apprenticeship in Aachen, at Walter Kraushaar‘s workshop. In the summer of 2012, I passed the final exams and moved back to Hamburg. The following year I became self-employed, building and repairing guitars in a corner of my father‘s workshop, until I found a suitable place of my own in Hamburg-Eimsbüttel.

When the opportunity to take over the well-established workshop in Hamburg-Ottensen presented itself in 2017, I moved into the current premises, where I now work together with Mario Brüggen since 2019.

My name is Robin König and I am a luthier from Hamburg.

As son of furniture designer and cabinetmaker Gunter König, I encountered aesthetics, precious woods and craftsmanship early on in my life. At the age of 15, my dad and I built our first electric guitar together. It would then take building a second guitar to find my calling in lutherie and pursue making a career of my new-found hobby.

In 2009 – after graduating from high school – I started my apprenticeship in Aachen, at Walter Kraushaar‘s workshop. In the summer of 2012, I passed the final exams and moved back to Hamburg. The following year I became self-employed, building and repairing guitars in a corner of my father‘s workshop, until I found a suitable place of my own in Hamburg-Eimsbüttel.

When the opportunity to take over the well-established workshop in Hamburg-Ottensen presented itself in 2017, I moved into the current premises, where I now work together with Mario Brüggen since 2019.

Hallo, mein Name ist Mario Brüggen.

Als Kind aus einer großen Handwerksfamilie bekam ich schon früh einen Einblick in die unterschiedlichsten Gewerke. Als die Liebe zur Musik dazu kam, bildete sich in mir langsam die Vorstellung eines Wunschberufes.
Ich suchte einen Beruf, bei dem ich mit unterschiedlichen Materialien gestalten und konstruieren kann, der also sowohl künstlerische als auch technische Aspekte berührt und das am liebsten direkt mit den Händen. Ich fand das alles im Instrumentenbau.

So begann ich 2008 meine Lehre in der Werkstatt von Walter Kraushaar in Aachen und nach meinem Abschluss 2011 blieb ich und arbeitete dort noch weiter bis 2019, wobei ich mir ständig neue Erkenntnisse und endlos viele technischen Kniffe erarbeitete. Außerdem bot sich mir bei tausenden Reparaturen und unzähligen Anfertigungen die Gelegenheit meine handwerklichen Fähigkeiten immer weiter auszubauen.

Im Sommer 2019 zog es mich dann weiter und ich wechselte von Aachen nach Hamburg und machte mich zusammen mit meinem Kollegen Robin König selbständig. Hier freue ich mich jetzt auf neue Aufgaben, Inspirationen und Eindrücke.

Mein Name ist Robin König und ich bin Hamburger Zupfinstrumentenmacher.

Als Sohn des Möbeltischlers und -designers Gunter König kam ich schon früh in Berührung mit Handwerk, edlen und schönen Hölzern und ästhetischen Formen. Bereits mit 15 Jahren baute ich zusammen mit meinem Vater die erste E-Gitarre. Es sollte noch eine weitere folgen bis ich mir sicher war, dass das Hobby Gitarrenbau mein Beruf werden sollte.

2009 begann ich nach dem Abitur meine Ausbildung bei Walter Kraushaar in Aachen. Im Sommer 2012 bestand ich die Prüfung zum Zupfinstrumentenmacher und zog wieder zurück in die Hansestadt, wo ich mich im darauffolgenden Jahr selbständig machte. Anfangs noch in einer Ecke in der Tischlerei meines Vaters, später in meiner ersten eigenen Werkstatt in Hamburg-Eimsbüttel.

Im Jahr 2017 habe ich die Werkstatt in Hamburg-Ottensen, nahe dem Altonaer Bahnhof, übernommen, die ich nun seit Sommer 2019 gemeinsam mit meinem Kollegen Mario Brüggen betreibe.

Mein Name ist Robin König und ich bin Hamburger Zupfinstrumentenmacher.

Als Sohn des Möbeltischlers und -designers Gunter König kam ich schon früh in Berührung mit Handwerk, edlen und schönen Hölzern und ästhetischen Formen. Bereits mit 15 Jahren baute ich zusammen mit meinem Vater die erste E-Gitarre. Es sollte noch eine weitere folgen bis ich mir sicher war, dass das Hobby Gitarrenbau mein Beruf werden sollte.

2009 begann ich nach dem Abitur meine Ausbildung bei Walter Kraushaar in Aachen. Im Sommer 2012 bestand ich die Prüfung zum Zupfinstrumentenmacher und zog wieder zurück in die Hansestadt, wo ich mich im darauffolgenden Jahr selbständig machte. Anfangs noch in einer Ecke in der Tischlerei meines Vaters, später in meiner ersten eigenen Werkstatt in Hamburg-Eimsbüttel.

Im Jahr 2017 habe ich die Werkstatt in Hamburg-Ottensen, nahe dem Altonaer Bahnhof, übernommen, die ich nun seit Sommer 2019 gemeinsam mit meinem Kollegen Mario Brüggen betreibe.